Dare to be different

Swimming - Men's 100m Freestyle - Heats

2016 Rio Olympics – Swimming – Preliminary – Men’s 100m Freestyle – Heats – Olympic Aquatics Stadium – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – 09/08/2016. Robel Kiros Habte (ETH) of Ethiopia competes. REUTERS/Dominic Ebenbichler

Do you know  Robel Kiros Habte?

He is Ethiopian Olympic debutant in men’s 100m free style. He ranked 59 out of 59. When everyone is commenting how slow he was and how out of shape he is as a swimmer. He said 

“I am so happy because it is my first competition in the Olympics,”

“I wanted to do something different for my country, that’s why I chose swimming,” he said. “Everybody, every day you wake up in Ethiopia, you run. Not swimming. But I didn’t want to run, I wanted to be a swimmer.

“It didn’t matter where I finished.”

To me. He won.

What an inspiring man.

Leave a Reply

